Ya Know?

Lately I’ve been thinking about all the things that I don’t know—in a positive light. Classes like the one have demonstrated certain areas of thought that I avoid completely—to no service to myself or anyone else.

So what are the words I typically avoid? Planning. Policy. Law. Real Estate. Financing. Taxes… and conversation about taxation. Corporation. Business. Development. Sorry for honesty everyone.

This said, I think these are the words and ideas that I have been most fascinated by since my return to school. Why? Because in my encounters with intelligent people that do know a lot about these things and share similar social and environmental concerns, I’m convinced they know something I need to know to accomplish more.

There are also those “things I don’t know” that I actually think I know but have never really tried to explain. I’m surely not alone on this one–the following article from the HBR explains this phenomenon:

“Find an object you use daily (a zipper, a toilet, a stereo speaker) and try to describe the particulars of how it works. You’re likely to discover unexpected gaps in your knowledge. In psychology, we call this cognitive barrier the illusion of explanatory depth. It means you think you fully understand something that you actually don’t.” – Do You Know What You Don’t Know? Art Markman, Harvard Business Review https://hbr.org/2012/05/discover-what-you-need-to-know/

Grad school and interdisciplinary classes such as this one are also good at challenging this common pitfall. I know more now about what I don’t know than I ever knew!(?) Thank you AP and everyone else for a great quarter.

Leave a Reply

